Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

triptych_angel

Reaction score
I've heard that it is illegal to keep corn snakes in Australia...does anyone know why they are illegal?

Cheers

Emma

Emma in Oz we're only allowed to keep animals that are native to the country. You may not be able to keep corn snakes but there is no lack of variety in the species we have.

oh and welcome to the site.. ah..... fear and loathing. one of the best books ever written :)

Oh i see, fair enough...I live in Sydneys West. Was just curious as i've been researching on the web and they are very beautiful snakes but when enquiring was told they were illegal. I only know of one place where i can get pythons and that is at Kellyville Pets although they only have a very specific range. Im new to this and am researching at this point...any help would be appreciated.

you cant actually sell or buy herps from a pet shop either, but there is plenty in our for sale thread and on other sites. welcome to the site.

You will get a good feel for what is available in Australia ... and at what price by visiting http://www.herptrader.com.au and clicking the Herp Trader button.

Of course I am biased because my wife is the Herp Trader #1 but hey, it is still Australia's top Herp Trading site.

Welcome to the site.
Snakes are like just other pets. You will normally get them a lot cheaper from a breeder than buying through a pet shop.

i recommend herpshop for any needs and herptrader for reptiles cause thre the bomb!!!