Can you attach two heat sources to a single thermostat?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lvl48

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm completely new to keeping snakes and am looking at making my first enclosure.
Right now I'm torn between hiring an electrician to wire it up for me or just using premade components that don't need further wiring.

I'm making my enclosure out of a 5ft long cabinet for a BHP, and I was wondering if I get a Microclimate B1ME thermostat can I attach the ceramic AND the infra red fitting to it using a plug splitter? Will it dim both heat sources or only one? Will it be overloaded? Do I only need to attach the ceramic to the thermostat and just use a timer on the infra red like I will on the UV bar?

Every time I learn something new about reptile keeping I am only filled with more questions...

If the double adapter is what connects both heat sources to the thermostat , both will be dimmed proportionally to their individual resistances.

Some very basic physics
power.png

and then Kirchhoff's Laws apply to work out current going from the double adapter to the two heat sources ( in parallel electrically ).
More basic physics , this is a handy easy to use GUI that will help you calculate how much current each heat source will receive https://www.digikey.com/en/resource...rsion-calculator-parallel-and-series-resistor.

Now a general comment , acceptable heat sources for diurnal ( day active ) reptiles are ceramic heat emitter , radiant heating panels , heatpads ( insulated , ie buried in sand, placed under glass or a ceramic tile ) , MVBs, Halogens floods, Incandescent floods, neodymium spots.