Stimson Python Questions

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cyansnake

Reaction score
Hello!

I am not new to the reptile community but it has been almost 2 years since my last reptile. (Had a 16 year old Beardie who I got at 8 years old who sadly passed on) and I have been thinking of renewing my license.

Now I have 10 years experience with lizards and geckos though I was interested in dipping my toes into the snake community, I had a spotted python for 6 months before from a hatchling but had to find it a new home as my sister's cat was constantly attacking the cage and flipping it off my table. (As it was a small hatchling box as I didn't want to put it in the full tank until bigger)

What I was really interested in getting was actually a Stimson Python as I love their colourations but I have a few questions when it comes to them.

1-With hatchlings, how long would you give them to settle down before attempting your first feeding? I know snakes take longer than beardies to settle.
2-Do Stimsons like to burrow? Substrate wise I was thinking of title with a thin layer of something above it for aesthetics but I might add something deeper if they are know to dig around?
3-They like horizontal tanks correct? What size is recommended for a full size Stimson? And at what size would you move a hatchling from a smaller box into a larger tank?

Those are my only main concerns right now, if you have any links to guides you think are good to follow please feel free to link any advice, thank you!