Need Help!! short neck murray river turtles!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Nickelodeon

Reaction score
Hey guys,
i'm pretty new to looking after turtles
my parents brought me 2 short neck murray river turtles for christmas 2010:D (approx 95 and 100 mm in length) i do not know their sex..
so i have had my turtles for about 8 months now... and im very worried about one of them as i think it is sick :( (but the other one is fine).. it isn't eating properly is always sitting on the dock barely goes in the water..it is very light and is very slow and not active.
it hasn't grown in length like the other one has .. its shell is flaking and it is like shedding it's skin.. the only way i can get it to eat is by putting it in a separate container and it will only eat blood worms.. i have tired nutrafin max and fish dinner aswell but it won't even touch it.... the other one will eat anything and is growing perfectly .. is active and healthy...
any suggestions on what is wrong with it??
also the healthy turtle has the yellow strip behind its eyes... but the sick one doesnt? what does this mean?
as i say im very new to this and any suggestions or tips would help so much thanks
kind regards
Nicole