This is a forum

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Otherwise you're just a hooker with no fullback. ;)

I am not a prostitute with no a-ss! ...................... I'm an exotic dancer... :lol:

Haha, I tend to get a little OCD with spelling and grammar in certain situations, in my work environment for example, it's all about covering a-ss (disregard my exotic dancer comment...;)).

It is commonly understood that in face to face communication, less than 10% of what we "say" is communicated in words. The other 90% is non-verbal, and para-verbal (How you say what you say... The cadence, tone and volume of your voice)
So if we are to communicate effectively using words, in the context of an internet forum, we must surely find a way to express ourselves as clearly as possible, attempting to indicate perhaps where we are;
Being sarcastic: "Yeah, that's real big..."

Ensuring people recognise the emphasised point: "This is my opinion."
The improper use of spelling and grammar can often be very misleading, and can completely change the context of a statement. There are so many words within the English language that sound the same but spelled differently, and sure, most of the time we are able to "interpret" the intended meaning, for some of us that is annoying, and for others it's a different interpretation altogether...

We all make mistakes from time to time, but these mistakes can be costly if you don't consider the consequences of using poor spelling and grammar. I regularly screen resumes, and dump 90% of them based on incorrect usage of spelling and grammar, and the crazy thing is, some of them come in word format already underlined red... If an applicant can't take the time to proof read the document they hope to secure employment with, then I don't want them working for me...