Video Editing Software...

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

slim6y

Almost Legendary
Reaction score
Hey there,

I just bought a new (cheapo) high speed camera. Can take up to 1,000 frames per second (FPS) which is totally awesome. The quality is low at this point tho.

But the 420 FPS (14 times slower than normal film) looks pretty cool. The 240 FPS is awesome!!

The only problem I have is editing the video - something as simple as playing a section in reverse... Windows Live Movie Maker is just too basic.

Are there any recommended 'free' movie makers - suitable for making video for YouTube - where I can use the high speed footage of me smashing stuff :) and play it in both forwards and backwards and super slow mo :)

Cheers

How ya goin Slim6y

OK- I work in the media/production industry; so I'll give you a couple of options.

The industry standard right now is FINAL CUT PRO. But it's expensive and clunky;

Then there is the program people who don;t know their stuff will recommend- Adobe Premiere. Whatever you do, DONT get it- it will crash your PC a hundred times, it doesnt have the features that cheaper programs have, and as much as I make lotsa $$$ from Adobe Photoshop- Premiere just doesn't stack up.

My personal recommendation is a program that used to be called Ulead. It was so good that it was bought out by Corel and is now called VideoStudio.

It really does rock- and I own a production company/record label, so I edit video ALOT

Go check out the Corel site and also Officeworks if you have it in NZ- it was VERY cheap (around $70) last time I was at Officeworks.

And if you have ANY questions- I love my work and geeking out so PM me and I'll give you a hand to find what you need.