Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RepifilmzTV

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am pretty new to keeping pythons/ snakes and I am rly enjoying it. But looking on getting into it more serious. So what i wanted to ask you all is:

Is there any money in breeding snakes as a full time or part time job?

is there any qualifications needed if u wanted to work in a breeding facility like snake ranch or SXR?

Yes absolutely there is money in breeding snakes as a job :D

Under paid, over worked, stressed, all to make less than what people on the dole get or 15 year olds at Maccas.

Geez, your doing alright if you make that much......:shock:;):D

Hi everyone, I am pretty new to keeping pythons/ snakes and I am rly enjoying it. But looking on getting into it more serious. So what i wanted to ask you all is:

Is there any money in breeding snakes as a full time or part time job?

In a word No! Years ago it was possible but with the sheer volume that is bred every year now that window has gone!
The market for the amount of snakes bred just is not there!

If you have two GTP's you can make a pretty packet of the offspring each year (in saying that they breed however).

Not thinking too deep into it just putting in my 2c
I would say if you stayed away from the average common pythons/snakes that sell for crumbs and say got
2F 1M
GTP.
Orange pepper pythons.
Colubrid snakes double clutch so that would be handy.
May be albino darwin tho I think the price of them are going down.

Big outlay so take longer to recover the expenses.
Could get a long time mate to put in.
Could just start out with GTP I guess.

Buy food in bulk of suppliers
Maybe get a ABN number so you could claim some electricity on TAX