New Bearded Dragon owner needs help!!!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TeeCee

Reaction score
Before I get critisized let me start from the beginning....

I clean out forclosure houses for a living. I went to one particular house and while cleaning it out, found a double cage with two bearded dragons. One was dead and the other in the cage was just scooted in the corner. I have no idea how long they were there for.....water and food dishes empty, no power in the house...but at least it was summer time.

I cleaned out the cages....took the live one home and have her set up....my problem is how do I properly care for her....

There are so many conflicting stories....about feeding, watering, bathing, temperature...

When I first picked her up, she tucked into my neck and just almost settled...she loves being cuddled...but, I want to make sure I am doing everything right....I have fallen in love with her....

So please help me....

For starters how do you know its a female and you need to have a heat source for basking which should be at one end of the tank you then need uvb source which should be a 10.0 uvb tube or bulb which you can buy from the pet store for the heating i use 100watt flood lights from bunnings which arre very cheap do the same thing, you really need the uvb thats the most important source as is reacts as the sun for uv rays and the basically need hides and decor's for the tank and you should be set oh also a thermometer for the hot side which the basking spot should be round 105-110 F if you need anything just ask goodluck

how sad that someone would be so neglectful. :(

so you have the cage already set up?

Basking temps should be around 40-45, produced by a bright light since they are day time critters.