Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BIGBANG

Reaction score
hey guy i did a venomous snake handling course today and if i hadnt been doing the course just to get the certificate then i would have been pretty disappointed. I have been catching vens for 17 years and thought its about time i get it on paper and legal, so i wasnt going there to learn how to catch a snake.....BUT there were however 5 of the 7 of us doing the course that had never touched a snake ( not even a python) let alone caught a wild venomous snake. now the course started at 7am and finished at 330pm and in this time i caught 2 brown snakes and 1 tiger that is all the hands on experience that was given, except for a couple of the people had a couple extra goes at it cos they kept making mistakes.......now.....i wouldnt trust some of the people there today catching a python in the wild let alone a ven but now they have done this course they can become snake catchers. I not only believe that there needs to be some sort of bench mark people should have to reach before being granted a catchers license but there needs to be a compensee level to protect these wanna be snake catchers from themselves cos after today stay tuned to the news cos if some of these people are let loose on the world there will be deaths.
now on another note if i'm doing a venomous snake handeling course i would like it to concerntrate on venomous snake handling and catching venomous snakes not how to look after snakes in captivity, or how to run your snake catching business. For the 8 hours i was there i think you could have fitted what was taught about venomous snakes and catching them into about 2 hours.

all i can say is i'm glad i wasnt going there expecting to come away having learnt how to catch a snake