F10 Disinfectant

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PhilK

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
G'day all - quick question about the dilution of F10 you use to clean your enclosures.
There's a dilution chart on the back ranging from weak to stronger depending upon what organism you want to kill - what do you normally use for cleaning down your enclosures?

I also go with the strongest solution- 4ml F10 for every 500ml water.
(P.s it's also good as a hand cleaner, to avoid cross-contamination :D...are you using a misting bottle? )

Only just bought some - it's pretty expensive through reptile places but I'm a vet so ordered it through work for cost price! I will be using it in a mister

yep i use the strongest mix too, just to make sure i kill all nasties.

I just chuck a capful or two in a spray bottle, fill it up and hope for the best:) Seems to do the trick!

Regardless of the mixing strength make sure you leave it in contact for the required length of time.

Ive always used the 1ml and have never had any problems, even used that dosage in a vet clinic.

I just chuck a capful or two in a spray bottle, fill it up and hope for the best:) Seems to do the trick!

Seems wastefull for an expensive product that would have been laboratory tested for it's safe and effective dosage rates.

Not even sure it's necessary seeing some of the large collections I know of that simply use hot water.

some people would be wasting their time and money. The effectivness of it is dependant on strength of solution as well as time spent in contact with the surface. To spray it on and wipe it off quickly will do nothing.

"Rapid kill times – less than 30 secs for gram positive bacteria, 60 secs for gram negative bacteria, Canine Parvovirus 20 mins.