anyone have any info on crossbows?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
doesn't seem to be any for sale in south Australia at the moment.

I was looking at some cheap ones on the flea market to get started, I might go and take a gander at a club before I pick one up though. so its best to start with a 26/30lb?

Last edited by a moderator:
doesn't seem to be any for sale in south Australia at the moment.

I was looking at some cheap ones on the flea market to get started, I might go and take a gander at a club before I pick one up though. so its best to start with a 26/30lb?

I would highly recommend visiting a club and do a course before buying any equipment, I've been shooting for 14 years and been on the national archery team for the past 4 years so I have a bit of an idea about this stuff.

Last edited by a moderator:
I would highly recommend visiting a club and do a course before buying any equipment, I've been shooting for 14 years and been on the national archery team for the past 4 years so I have a bit of an idea about this stuff.

This is VERY good advice. I would recommend that you take it. There are so many factors with Archery. Do a course try lots of bows, work out your specs; draw weight, purpose, etc; then make a decision.

If you want a cross bow, reality is you might as well get a rifle. If you want to learn and perfect the art of Archery, start with a recurve, then either stay with it or move towards a compound. See what works for you. Work out what you want from Archery: target, field (3D), or hunting. Accurate recurve bow archery requires more skill than accurate compound bow archery.