Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Sometimes. And sometimes not.
It's like fish... Some people get right into it others see it, want it and get bored.
I've seen plenty of people buy reptiles from breeders on impulse and get bored too. There's always people selling snakes on gumtree like this.
yeh defently but to get into this hobby ya gotta research or no somebody that's into it so there's a bit of commitment to the cause having them reataly available at pet shops people don't have to put as much effort into getting there hands on them as what we have to at the moment

I used to work in the pet industry - a long time ago - and other comments are spot on: there are dodgy operators and great ones. Bit it's the same with breeders - not members of this Forum of course! In any case, when I was in the industry I also bred birds. And I wouldn't buy my animals from the pet store because I want to talk to the breeder about genetics and husbandry issues etc etc. Pet store staff won't be able to do that with every animal in the collection - it's too hard. So if you want a green budgie for the kids - pet store. Ditto for a basic herp. But if you want to breed or more specific information about the animal you are buying - and let's face it: a lot of reptiles are expensive and a big investment - you will still need to go to a breeder.

Lol its a good thing folks.. you all think that people who have the smarts to put small business together in the pet industry wouldnt be smart enough to look after a snake and play by the rules?? This gives exposure to the industry to help it grow, gives you breeders a chance to open a store front and do the right things and sell some animals..

Ive seen some disgusting backyard breeders.. I would think that shops would have to run a much tighter ship than backyard breeders?