Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Crested gecko Rhacodactylus ciliatus
079.jpg
Is this your crested gecko and if it is I didn't think you where allowed to keep them in Australia? and its a stunning photo by the way!!!!cheers riley

I am just getting into reptile and other wildlife photography and I am planning on getting a Nikon D3100 twin lense kit; 18-55mm & 70-300mm lenses.
I am curious whether too how much it will cost for lighting on the camera if I need others besides the pop up one it already has.
And I am also wondering what else I will need to magnificently photograph reptiles?

Cheers, Bohdi.

That's a complicated question.

Your best approach is to do some research, and then some more.

It depends on what style of photography you're interested in, how versatile you want your set up to be. I do a lot of studio stuff and mostly use continuous lighting. I also use some flash guns and ring flashes from time to time.

Entry level flash guns are relatively inexpensive, they are a good place to start and you can upgrade as you go. As your skills develop, so will your requirements.

A lot of photographers steer away from using the on board flash. It kills detail and makes photos flat and lifeless. You just have to use what you've got, effectively.

I am just getting into reptile and other wildlife photography and I am planning on getting a Nikon D3100 twin lense kit; 18-55mm & 70-300mm lenses.
I am curious whether too how much it will cost for lighting on the camera if I need others besides the pop up one it already has.
And I am also wondering what else I will need to magnificently photograph reptiles?

Cheers, Bohdi.

You don't really need too much fancy eqipment to do photography (it helps)... sometimes a camera, a log, a snake and some sunhine is all it takes.

e87bdea9.jpg