Newbie here! What species of lizard should I keep?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Azaliaa

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am completely new to keeping reptiles... well I will be when I get to the keeping part. Currently I have a couple of fish tanks, one of which I am hoping to sell the fishies and convert to a lizard tank. It is 2ft long and a taller tank. Its dimensions look alot like this picture although without the hood as my tank just has two sheets of glass on top with a thinner removable strip-light -

images

I believe I would have to buy (if thats possible) or make a sort of mesh hood instead of the glass sheets.

The first thing I've been trying to research is what species of lizard are available to me. I live on the Central Coast in NSW. I particularly like the look of geckos and I think I could house one or two max in my tank. I read on one of the way-too-many sites I looked at that most geckos don't like high environments so I'm worried my tank isn't suitable? Is this enough ground space? Preferrably I would like a breed of gecko that would like to climb a little bit as I intend on setting up the tank with some taller plants/objects if I can.

Originally I fell in love with the knob-tailed gecko but would they rather sit on the sand all night/day and not use much else? Any other suggestions, even if not geckos? Though beautiful patterns are a favourite with me :)

Another question I've been pondering - do all geckos dislike lighting? Is there a way to get lighting on the tank but not disturb the lizards?

Thankyou so much :) it's great that we have this forum and I'm even more excited about the sales area for when I get everything organised!

- Anna