Newbie here! What species of lizard should I keep?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm looking at a youtube clip about a Rankins Dragon, they look pretty cute! Would they be something suitable? Only one or two?

Edit: oops posted too soon! Defs not two XD

Those geckos look absolutely gorgeous MathewB! Are they hard to get ahold of? I suppose when Im ready I'll just trawl the net and hope/wait for what I decide on.

The leaf-tails I've looked at seem pretty interesting too. I think I did read something that said they climb, which I'm guessing is why they are suggested :)

Does anybody here own geckos that don't mind some lighting? I'm just thinking that it can be a bit dark where I have my tank currently (but it's the only place for air con in summer) so it'd be nice to be able to spot them once in a while ha.

Thanks again all! Going to go read up on these great suggestions!

Golden Tails are content to sit under their basking light in the open on a branch, they rely on on their camouflage for protection, so you'll always be able to spot them and they're diurnal as well. I'm not to sure about the velvets though but I'm led to believe that they're a pretty active, possibly diurnal gecko. As best as I can remember both are fine with lighting, in fact all species are, if you have a purple or whatever light that simulates the moon. I don't think that they're very difficult to get a hold of, some can be a bit pricey.

Ive heard that some leaf tails can be a bit tricky to keep, something to do with humidity.

Take all of this with a grain of salt haha

Ta Mathew :)