Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ranga

Reaction score
I am only fairly new to the whole monitor side of things so basically I just wanted some personal opinions on some monitors, so if you can tell me anything about either of the 4 below that would be great...

I have basic knowledge from what you read on the net but that doesn't account for the thousands that keep them and are probably nothing like the stereotype. I'm basically just wanting to know how aggressive can each be, is one more prone to snapping than others, which is best to be handled, which do you find more Intruiging to watch...

the 4 monitors that I'm looking at atm (with intentions on a Lacey down the track) are
1- sand monitor
2- Rosenberg monitor
3- spencers monitor
4- yellow spotted monitor

so from what I've read they all basically grow to the same size, require similar housing, and are relatively same prices?

The monitors you have listed all grow to a substantial size, not a lot short of a lace monitor over all. If you genuinely feel you need some learning experience with monitors, there are several species of medium size that would be more suitable to cut your teeth on. Ackies are a great starter monitor – hardy, active and attractive animals, although limited in size. Black-headed and Tree Monitors are somewhat larger and are even more arboreal than lace monitors but share their share swiftness and responses to things like food.