DIY Enclosure questions

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Macca_75

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Absolute newbie here on this forum (and to reptiles). As a background my hobby is Marine fish tanks however my son has decided he wants a Bearded Dragon for his birthday. I was recommended this forum for other fellow reef keepers.

So here I am….

First things first - I’ve applied for the licence and am hoping this will arrive in time.
Next up is the enclosure. I’ve been shopping around at my local fish shops (which also sell reptiles) and am surprised at the expense of what is essentially a wooden box.

I had a look in the “Noteworthy Links” section on this forum and found the perfect step by step to an enclosure by Darren Whittaker– currently getting prices on materials.

My next question is what goes in the box?

The initial plan is to buy 1 Juvenile Bearded Dragon and see how my son goes – if he keeps interested then he might get a second sometime in the future. Based on this I’m led to believe a 1200mm long would be suffice. Yes/No? (I’ve altered the plans form the articles mentioned above slightly and plan on 1200 x 550 – this gives me enough “offcut” from the sheet to put a 75mm high kickboard inside the enclosure to stop the substrate getting into the glass tracks which will be mounted in front of the 75mm board on a 50mm board – hope that makes sense).
I was planning on using a STC-1000 controller to control the temp (which I believe is by turning a light on/off) but came across JET-001 on ebay for around $50. Looks like (unless I have misunderstood it) the JET-001 will control the temp globe and the UV light/s based on a timer – is that correct?