cooling question???

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nebben838

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been reading about this but thought I might ask a couple of questions about it.
I've been cooling my darwin pythons for about 3 months now and have Ben putting them together on and of for about 4 weeks. I've seen them copulating (I belive thats the correct term) several times now.
My question is when should I start feeding them again? I guess I can feed the male when I'm no longer putting them together but at what point should I feed the female? Do I have to wait until after she lays her eggs, assuming all goes well.
Any advice is much appreciated.

Cheers Ben.

feed the male when they stop matting make sure to put him back onto 24 hour heat. After you take the eggs off your girl clean her cage put her on 24 hour heat and try in 2-3 days.
-Liam

feed the male when they stop matting make sure to put him back onto 24 hour heat. After you take the eggs off your girl clean her cage put her on 24 hour heat and try in 2-3 days.
-Liam
Why 24 hour heat? I've never given any of my adults 24/7 heat. 12/12 is all they need.

What if the time ambient temperatures drop to like 6 degrees or lower witch it does regularly here in sa?its just easyer with 24/7 heat than to try keep a stable night temp

Does the temp in the enclosure drop to 6 degrees though or are you referring to outside temperature? I only use 12/12 heat cycle when feeding and as long as they have a good hot spot then it makes no difference

Talking about adult snakes blades. Give juvies 24/7 first year at least.

What if the time ambient temperatures drop to like 6 degrees or lower witch it does regularly here in sa?its just easyer with 24/7 heat than to try keep a stable night temp