Snake Tongs! Good or Bad?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ViperReptiles

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Now I've heard a lot of mixed thoughts on snake tongs. Some people think that they offer too much risk to injuring the snake, whereas others say they are completely fine! Let me know what you think, and why! :)

@Hender135, IMO as a hobbyist i cannot see the need for tongs unless you are collecting Vens, and even then i think there is too much danger of harming the snake, 1 or 2 hooks are all you really need, we see tooooooo often on TV all the would be's running around in the bush "TONGS" flailing wildly in front of them only to find some poor little colubrid to crush between the jaws of those mighty tongs, some professional snake relocators use them sparingly and mostly because they might only have the 1 chance to remove the snake from a situation of danger. Tongs :( Hooks :) hope that helps. :) ......................Ron

Snake tongs are not necessary.. A hook and bag id all you need for relocating

Yeah I prefer using hooks, the reason I asked is because I've never tried using tongs and I have heard mixed feelings about them. So I wanted to see if they're worth the money of if I should stick with my trusty hook!

They are awesome.....if you want to pick up rubbish beside the highway.
Seriously though, when I see a relocator or herper pull them out for Australian snakes it makes me lose a hell of a lot of respect for them.

If you can't handle them with a hook and bag you shouldn't be touching vens....just my opinion.

The risk that tongs have towards the snake is all dependent on the set of tongs being used and the skill of the person using them.