first meal after shedding

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jsmith

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey guys.

my stimson python is still going through his first shed (since ive had him) he did shed in one piece and still has some skin just behind his head im assuming his enviroment was humid enough.

anyway i was just wondering how long it takes them to come around and eat again. its probably been just over 2 weeks since his last feed.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Hey there jsmith, I can only over limited information (as im pretty new to keeping reptiles myself).

My murray darling smashes her food in and out of shed, has your snakes behavior changed since his shed?

With my stimsons it doesn't matter, if they are due for a feed I will offer them one if they eat great if not I give it a week then try again. The last shed one of mine went through it just finished a meal and within a couple of minutes I came back to it starting a shed.

yeh a couple of days prior to shed. he didnt want to take his meal. i put this down to giving him hopper mice instead of pinkies the week before.
in terms of behaviour he has calmed down alot. so previously as soon as something entered his enclosure bang he struck now he really doesnt care.

temps seem to be fine. so might give him another week

one thing its good he has chilled out. but feeding him when he was a bit aggressive/scared was easy

Last edited:
Edit - I just reread your post, thought you said you have tried feeding him since he shed. I would try feeding him as soon as you would normally ie if you feed him once a week every Friday try again on Friday. If he doesn't take it then you can start a process of elimination, the first thing being temperatures in the enclosure as heating plays an important role in digestion.