Diamond Python Help

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

crispy llama

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm rather new to this and there seems to be a lot of different opinions out there about diamonds. So, I was wondering what an appropriate set up would be for a 12-18 month old diamond python.

What I'm interested in is what size enclosure, what heating/lighting equipment, and temperature regime would be required/do you recommend?

Thanks for all your replies!

I would suggest buying and reading these books for both general and specific information

* Keeping Carpet Pythons by Kortlang and Greem
* Care of Australian Reptiles in Captivity by Weigel
* Keeping and Breeding Australian Pythons (ed Swan

I agree with @Pauls_Pythons in that no one really agrees when it comes to information about diamond pythons. There are tons of threads, with loads of information by experienced keepers. I do also recommend as @cagey said, ' Keeping and Breeding Australian Pythons (ed Swan' this is the book I have, and while it's pricey it has some great information of python keeping in general, and a chapter specifically for diamond pythons.
I'll give my two cents,
Is the diamond new or have you had it since a hatchy?
After 1 year, hatchys don't get 24hr heat, it's reduced way down, I give mine 4 hours of heat (Via heat lamp) in the morning during feeding season, and during brumation (which begins in may I believe) I will only be giving him 2.