Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Iguana

Reaction score
hey everyone,
it's my first time brumating my reptiles, and it's been a learning curve so far.
I've dropped the heat, in time not temperature, and taken away about 2 hours of lighting for everyone.

But I don't know if they are actually 'brumating' or not, I say this because both my Diamond and Jungle are pretty much never in their hides. The Diamond is pacing a fair bit, and i'm guessing he's hungry. He's 3 or so if that helps.

The Jungle, which spent 20 or so hours each day in his hide, now refuses to go back to it. He sits up high on the branches all day, and under the heat for a couple hours at night.

The pink tongue is eating less, he doesn't seem so hungry, but now 'basks' under his UV light. He is out much more.

Jungle Heat- 8ish am- 12pm

Diamond heat- currently 3 hours, am dropping to 2 today.

Pink tongue- no heat, (some heat comes from tank underneath, but not a lot)

All have light from 7am-5pm

Not sure if this is just how it is, or if i'm doing something wrong...
Any answers are appreciated :)

My Stimson boy also paces around his enclosure for hours every night.! It looks like he's trying to escape or is having a dance party in there.!

You need to drop the temperature as well as the time. This is to simulate winter temperatures and daylight hours.

Hahaa pacing is not looking for food at this time of year :p
He's looking for a girlfriend
My guys are getting 8hrs of daytime heat :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk