Newbie From Qld

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RickB

Not so new Member
Reaction score
G'day everyone.
I am very new to the hobby and need to get some info on keeping a Coastal Carpet Python.
I live in South east Qld so the temperature variations are not too extreme compared to our southern neighbours.
As said above I have a Coastal Carpet Python, about 55cm long, sex unknown (at this time).
I keep it in a click clack for now and will soon make a larger Terrarium to house my snake, probably use 12mm ply and seal all internal surfaces. Would I be better off making an intermediate Terrarium and a larger one in about 12 months an my snake grows bigger?
After doing some reading here I see posts about getting items like heat cords, thermostats, heat guns, IR lights and so on.
Questions - How to work out what temp range for thermostats heat cords and heat guns? Wattage for IR Lights?
Thanks for any assistance or tips from our members

Hi there welcome!

Coastals are a great starting choice!
I'm not sure what others would say, but you can honestly put a snake of any size (preferably at least 12months) into the full enclosure as long as you provide a lot of hides and remove some as they get older till you only have 1 or 2 left!

If you can make a medium enclosure, you can, but if let's say.. budget is tight, you can build a smaller one then larger one in 2 years, or you can place into the larger one with lots of hides (I mean lots, like 10-15 even more!)

Regarding heat temps

The warm end should be around 32-34 a little lower doesn't hurt if for whatever reason it's not going up to 32-34 (if it sticks at 29-31 etc) it is winter after all, a bit colder :p

That's the warm end, the other end should be around 20+