Help with a Carpet Python

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am enjoying this discussion.... although, as a scientist, I am sure I have a bias.
What field are you in Cagey? Also as a scientist what is your opinion in regard to Intergrades?

Last edited:
If carpet pythons are one and the same I wonder why people get into such a tizzy when they're knowingly "hybridized"?

If carpet pythons are one and the same I wonder why people get into such a tizzy when they're knowingly "hybridized"?

If they are sold/passed on as 'mixed carpets' I don't have too much of an issue. What goads me is when we start getting mixed animals bred with pure lines and sold as 'pure'.
The term 'intergrade' is often used to substantiate someones attempt to breed a new unique morph but all they end up with is animals that no one wants to buy. I understand many herpers want to breed their animals but I wish they would put some thought into it for the animals sake.

They have evolved over millions of years into quite distinctive local variations and I for one appreciate the diversity and don't see the point in crossing Julattens with say MD's or SW's just to produce something different.
As Paul has said, it often produces lots of worthless unattractive crossbreeds not to mention the un-viable or serious neuro problem animals resulting from breeding jags that end up in a freezer.

If they are sold/passed on as 'mixed carpets' I don't have too much of an issue. What goads me is when we start getting mixed animals bred with pure lines and sold as 'pure'.