New Snake Feeding

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
While I would never consider myself an authority on diamonds I have been keeping them for around 15 years now & breeding for 5 so I do believe I have some idea as to what I'm talking about.
Its not too hot for a diamond. Even my adults have a hot spot of 33-35 though the hours are reduced. (They will bask on 40 degree days in the wild)
24/7 heat is given to all my hatchies until they are established feeders. In the case of some problem feeders this has been as long as the 2nd winter though normally its only done during the 1st winter.
As this animal is being fed something so small as fuzzie mice we can assume its one of last years hatchies and it hasn't been eating for a considerable time. (Or its a very early animal from this season and again hasnt been feeding) Either way the animal is obviously NOT an established eater based from the information available.

You mention DPS and if I remember correctly those temps/hours of heat were advised to you on this forum by myself and a couple of other's who have experience with diamonds. They are appropriate, for an established animal. This one needs to get used to eating so the idea is to artificially increase its ability to digest so it can be fed 3-4 meals in a short time period to get it to a stage where it is established.

Well you’re my go-to expert on Diamonds! I think perhaps I worded my reply incorrectly- perhaps it would have been better to say that it’s being offered heat for ‘too hot for too long’ instead of just ‘too hot’.

Just going off breeding times (and assuming this is a young animal), I did assume it was around the 1-1.5 year age mark (although I could be wrong), so I would expect it to be an established feeder who is either