Can't keep cool end cool!!!!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

davidt797

Reaction score
Currently have a wooden terrarium with a glass front with a single male shingleback as it's occupant. Using a ceramic heat emitter on one end and a uvb light across the terrarium. Days with normal room temp (25 degrees centigrade and under) I have a nice 5 degree difference in temp. Anything above 25 degrees however and the temp pretty much just equalises.
Concerned because obviously he won't be able to move to a non-existent cool end. I've tried leaving the fan on in the room and even pointing the fan into the vent, to little effect.

Any suggestions on how to keep the cool end cool on hot days?

Aircon. It's how I've been keeping my pythons and egg incubator from getting too hot for the last 3 days.
Even had to move my 2 mice breeding tanks down stairs into the aircon 3 days ago.

Currently have a wooden terrarium with a glass front with a single male shingleback as it's occupant. Using a ceramic heat emitter on one end and a uvb light across the terrarium. Days with normal room temp (25 degrees centigrade and under) I have a nice 5 degree difference in temp. Anything above 25 degrees however and the temp pretty much just equalises.
Concerned because obviously he won't be able to move to a non-existent cool end. I've tried leaving the fan on in the room and even pointing the fan into the vent, to little effect.

Any suggestions on how to keep the cool end cool on hot days?
Aircon is only way for snake and lizard enclosures but most northern Australian species (do you know where your shingleback originated) are quite ok with mid 30s temperature for short periods, Diamonds need a cool spot. I put frozen water bottles in with my rodents and that might help with hot lizards.