Is it safe ?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an electrician but I don't really get the quistion if it is about the temperatur control on the termostat because that is all about the quality and brand or will it start a fire? Again quality and brand. I've seen many heatcords/heatmats that has scorched the surface of a table or the floor of wood tanks but never seen one that started a fire unless it is faulty wirering. I been in the hobby for +40 years and an electrician for +30 years :)
Sorry... the question was is it safe to plug a mat with a thermostat (that I have no idea if it’s doing it’s job) into a proper thermostat... I am of the mindset that it will do some dodgy things if it’s turning off at the plug (the stand alone thermostat) rather than the inbuilt mat thermostat that turns off at 50°c critical temps
[doublepost=1516263975,1516263925][/doublepost]
Not fish tanks same rule apply’s you have to have airflow I had a friend who put a 15w heatmat under a fish tank we measured his hot spot at 55c. This was for a spotted python!
My hotspots getting to around 40° and seems to move around which is *|€~€]*~ annoyingm

If they are good ones it should not be a problem it will cut out when it reaches the lowest set temp.of either controller
That’s the problem with the mat.. it has no numbers or anything.. just a dial of off on one end to the highest saying “on” which it sky rockets in temps and I have to somehow work the temps there

Then turn the bad one to Max temp. and plug that into the good one you trust and set that for your Max temp.
That should work best or safest

Then turn the bad one to Max temp. and plug that into the good one you trust and set that for your Max temp.
That should work best or safest
Set what to my max temp? 36? Or the 50 of the inbuilt