Uvb fixture from Bunnings?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Krissy90

Not so new Member
Reaction score
hey guys! Newbie here!
I was just wondering if anyone can tell me if Bunnings has any flurescent fixtures suitable for a 10.0 reptisun uvb. A pre wired one would be ever better! I have had a look on their website (all look the same to me) and googled endlessly but to no avail so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
krissy.

Yes :) they have some at bunnings that look like this, the ones you would usually use outside your home or in a garage! Just not sure which one to get as they all look the same, all I know is it needs to be a T8, am hoping they sell one pre wired! Just trying to save a few dollars as I’m needing a couple more and not looking forward to spending upwards of $60 on them anymore :)

ACC04044-C407-458A-A2D4-06DA7711C692.png

They would be suitable, one thing though, without a reflector shroud some of the light will be lost making it less effective. It will also become an annoyance for you shining in your eyes.
An electician could wire one fairly cheaply, I am not sure how much, but a batten from bunnings wired by an electrician should be cheaper than a pet shop bought item.

Yeah I don't know if that style would be any good to you as they are designed to throw light outwards to light a vast area like an underground Carpark, garage etc. The ones we use over reptile aquariums, terrariums, vivs, etc have the reflector to concentrate the uvb downwards. The light tube is set back inside the reflector to direct it and prevent it from spreading outwards.

What are you specifically using the lighting for, what animal?