Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jarrad_lee420

Reaction score
Hey everyone!! I live in Adelaide South Australia and I’m still new to handling snakes. I have a 5 month old coastal carpet python and it’s beautiful. It’s quite a hot day today here in Adelaide and I need some tips on keeping my tank at the right temperature so it doesn’t over heat it while the hot days are still coming. It’s currently sitting at 35.5 degrees Celsius and it’s going up and down in temperature slowly. My snake won’t go near his water bowl to cool off abit. I have his heat mat turned off also. What I’m really trying to say is. Is that okay for my tank to be at that temperature? It’s stressful not knowing how it’s treating my snake in his tank. I spray some water from a bottle in there every now and then to cool him off but is it okay to do that? And for him to be in this temperature? And to have his mat off in this temperature? He won’t leave his log to see if it’s distressing him or not and I don’t want to pick it up to stress him out in the heat in my house. Any help would be great! Thank you!!
[doublepost=1517991710,1517991371][/doublepost]This is my coastal.

DDB25FCA-F3D7-4736-AD10-AFBEE1390414.jpeg

Hey mate.. I would just keep the heat off lights off and anything else that would/could generate heat..
Remember they have to deal with this in the wild extreme heats and colds. Maybe even allow a tad more air flow in the enclourse to lower the temp..
Sorry about the S.A. thing tho [emoji38]..

Instagram: murph_BTK

Welcome to the forum. As Murph has said, turn everything off. Don't feed it, just change the water as usual.
We've had our reptiles turned off since yesterday (Tuesday).

And Murph, what SA thing? :)
Hahaha it's a private joke the rest of Aust is onto.. well outside of Tassie.. [emoji4]..