Newbie Feeder

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok thanks very much. I did read that it should be left alone for a while but i was also concerned as I am unsure of the last time it ate if it has at all. I will leave it for a few days and see what happens. I did just drop a pinky in but I will pull it out in the morning if still there and then leave it. Again thank you all so much for your advice. Cheers
hi
im a complete newbie to reptiles, my son just got a childrens hatchy. i remember the lady at the shop specifically saying not to thaw the pinkies in warm water (she rekons it changes the smell). im the first to admit, i know nothing, but if the shop yours came from thawed the pinkies naturally maybe you should try that. i know with most animals you try to keep the diet the same as it has been with the breeder, shop previous owner to reduce stress.
this is just a suggestion and im sure plenty of people thaw pinkies in warm water, i just remember the shop saying to do it the same way they did to reduce changes to the animal.
best o luck

Gday, thanks for your reply. Sorry I didn’t get a notification for your comment.

I have been defrosting the mice in a snappy bag and then put it in the water. At least this way it holds the scent better.

Although he is not taking the mouse from the tongs I am stoked he is eating. I just leave the mouse in the hide and it was gone after about 30min last night. Still going strong. I did think it was going to shed as his/her eyes went cloudy but now they are back to normal. A little strange but still had a feed so all good.

Cheers

Gday, thanks for your reply. Sorry I didn’t get a notification for your comment.

I have been defrosting the mice in a snappy bag and then put it in the water. At least this way it holds the scent better.