how big do adult Bredlis get?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JessTL

Reaction score
Hello again, newbie here - well, we aren't owners yet... Looking at getting a Bredli, but there seems to be some mixed info on size. What is the average size & weight of an adult please? I know males & females are a little different & I also appreciate that there are of course variations. When we initially decided on a bredli, I'd seen it written that they get to 4-5' but since seen 7-8'... hoping that's just the 'whopper' end of the scale & not all that likely!

Of course, it must depend greatly how much theyre fed and seems to depend on age too, but how heavy do they get on av? Can't find that info anywhere.

Unless you starve them they'll all get over 4-5'. 8' would be a really big one, rarely they'll get even larger. They're a pretty typical Carpet Python size, maybe a little on the larger than average side.

Weight varies a lot and depends a huge amount on how fat they are. It can also change dramatically (up or down) in the same snake. Sounds like you'd do well to find the opportunity to play with a few Carpet Pythons of whatever type and get a feel for how large and heavy they are, and decide whether or not they suit you. I'm not sure how physically large you are, but I personally don't find a 7-8' snake to be all that big. If I'm working with a hundred of them I prefer something smaller and more easily manageable, but I think it's fun to have at least two or three nice big snakes in the collection, and 8' is only just sort of bordering on big and doesn't really cut it. Not that it's essential to have a big snake, but 8' isn't that big.