Is this a sign that I am under feeding (darwin carpet python)

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Connor_mcw

Reaction score
So a couple of months ago I got my first snake so I'm still very new to this, I noticed that I could see what I am guessing are muscle strands (see picture) which I hadn't noticed before and was wondering if this was a sign for me to increase how much food i give her.

I can see these lines even when she is relaxed, not just when she is constricting.

For reference on how much she eats
According to her info card the pet store gave me she is about a year old
She shed last weekend so I measured her to be about 80cm
She has been eating 1 fuzzy mouse a week (the store told me to maintain this for 10 weeks before I increase her food size).

Any advice is appreciated.

20190318_201036.jpg

Hard to judge the length from a slough, but in the picture it looks tiny for something over a year old, and a year old carpet should be eating stuff much larger than fuzzy mice (I'd have them on what pet shops would call jumbo rats by this age).

You have the snake photographed while it was eating, might as well have included the feed so we could see how much too small it is and we could give you a size reference.

Definitely feed more.

Didn't think about including the food in the shot, compared to her the mice are longer than her head, but about as wide as the back of her skull, when they get to the thicker part of her body you have to look real hard to notice where it is.

Didn't think about including the food in the shot, compared to her the mice are longer than her head, but about as wide as the back of her skull, when they get to the thicker part of her body you have to look real hard to notice where it is.
Food should leave a noticeable bulge when in the middle the belly