Darwin Carpet Yearling Behaviour

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan.M

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm a newby with a yearling Darwin Carpet Python. This is my first time owning a snake, and I've only had him a week (I know, not that long) although I just wanted to do a checkup on him from others that have had more long-term experience. I would rather not have sarcastic/rude comments please, just trying to find out as much info as I can to be a great owner!

So firstly, behaviour; he was fed on Sunday (today now being Thursday) and for the first two days he was hidden. Completely understand that's the norm. But the night he emerged from his hide (and every night since) he was instantly in hunt-mode, is this indicating that he is hungry again already? Or just normal carpet behaviour for night-time activity? (No I did not feed him in his cage) During the day he thinks he's a GTP and just drapes himself on tree branches all day lol.

Second query; his enclosure is outside on my back patio area in the shade, in a glass enclosure with the front door being about 1/3 or so mesh to breathe. I live up in Cape York so it's pretty humid and I haven't installed a heat mat due to his tank sitting at a temp range of 25-29 degrees with approx 50-70% humidity naturally. Should I install one so he can heat himself after feeding prior to hiding?

Any extra info on normal behaviours or tips on his care is very appreciated.
Thanks in advance, Megan.

Last edited:
Hi guys,