Foam Fire risk?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tinyroar

Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first post and I am fairly new to the hobby. I have a blue tongue and a children’s Python.
I’m getting a albino Darwin in a few weeks and wanted to attempt to make my own background.
I bought a foam board from Bunnings today (knauf insulation board) and some expanding foam and I have MANY questions about how to actually build it... but I started to worry that a foam background that close to heat lamps would be a massive fire risk??
Thoughts, advice and expert examples? Much appreciated and I can’t wait to interact with this community to learn and improve my reptile keeping interest and husbandry.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I don’t think there is a huge fire risk from lamps they don’t usally explode. But I can see your concern that stuff would be like napalm if it were to ignite.

I don’t think there is a huge fire risk from lamps they don’t usally explode. But I can see your concern that stuff would be like napalm if it were to ignite.

Yeah.... it would just go up hey.... wondering if it’s not worth the risk :/

I don’t see a risk as long as you use thermostat and that. Quaility electrical leads sockets power boards and all that
[doublepost=1562621618,1562621565][/doublepost]Light cage so snake can’t burn itself

I don’t see a risk as long as you use thermostat and that. Quaility electrical leads sockets power boards and all that
[doublepost=1562621618,1562621565][/doublepost]Light cage so snake can’t burn itself

That’s a good point too. Thank you :)