Year 12 Major Design

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jen_179

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi there, Im in Yr 12 and for my Design Technology major project I'm looking to build a custom reptile display case with bioactive enclosures.
I have to do research on design problems with reptile enclosures. Does anyone have any design faults or needs they wished were incorporated into enclosures/Display cases?

Any suggestions/comments are greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

I don't know about a design problem persey. I'm new to the hobby so these maybe bad ideas - please take with a grain of salt.

Vent Positions

One thing I have noticed with some cages is that they have the lower vent on the cool side, and higher vent on the hot side, yet other cages have the opposite (high vent on the cool side, and low vent on the warm side). The basics of physics say that heat rises - however what I'm not sure on and may be an interesting study is what is the difference between these two designs.

My initial guess (and it's a guess) is that one would create more air flow than another and reduces humidity while the other lowers airflow a little, increases humidity and efficiency of the unit. Whether this is correct, and/or there are other benefits or flaws with each model I don't know. Which model you choose, and why you choose it may be worth adding into your project... (I'm guessing one would be better for humid environments and the other for colder environments. Think north qld vs inner land vic/nsw).

Light Positions

Something I'm not fond of is seeing the lights at the top of the enclosures. I'm a fan of enclosures where the lights are hidden by a skirting board or otherwise, but that is aesthetical more than functional.

Doors