Feeding my spotted python correct prey size

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kate91

Reaction score
Hey guys,
Newbie here and newbie to owning pythons, my 3 month old spotted python is currently taking pinkie mice, but she barely looks fed after a feed. Reptile shop gave me velvets (I think this is the next size up) and they look alot bigger than her widest part of her girth.
Now on her care sheet it states you can feed 2 prey items, would 2 pinkies be better than the larger velvet? Or go straight for the velvet. I'm nervous to just try it incase something happens to her.
Thanks all.

Hi Kate91
I would just give her a velvet and see what happens. If its to big , she will spit it out, no harm done. Good lock.

Hi Kate91
I would just give her a velvet and see what happens. If its to big , she will spit it out, no harm done. Good lock.
Thank you. Is the general rule same size as the girth or 1 and a half? I'm getting differing opinions.

Thank you. Is the general rule same size as the girth or 1 and a half? I'm getting differing opinions.
1-2x is a very safe size

the general idea is theyre gonna squeeze the item into wham camo referred to as "spaghetti"

others weigh their snake and get 20-30% of that weight which is better than sizing it up, especially for newcomers

for a spotted python though i'd be going fuzzy-weaner~ size

1-2x is a very safe size

the general idea is theyre gonna squeeze the item into wham camo referred to as "spaghetti"

others weigh their snake and get 20-30% of that weight which is better than sizing it up, especially for newcomers

agreed just like a fairly large fuzzy like said above fuzzy-weaner above is the best answer you will get.

1-2x is a very safe size

She is tiny even the velvet is massive compared to her weighed her shes only 15grams, only had her 2 weeks, 1 feed (was in shed)