Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Rossagon said:
Hmmm loopholes, may have something to do with gifts from landholders. But I'm no expert!!

thats one of the ones ive heard, i beleive(not 100% sure) that is how the youngest came to the territory wildlife park. but, these dont think it includes private keepers lol, or else i would have asked some friends of mine who are traditional land owners to keep their eyes open for them :wink:

Hi guys
I'm new here. I used to keep reptiles and am going to get back into it. I have worked around the country and always took opportunites to go looking for local herps. There are Oenpelli Pythons at the Territory Wildlife Park. They were not on display the days I was there as there was a cyclone warning and their cages are outdoors. The guide organised me to go backstage and look at them. They were not in great condition in my opinion. I would guess they were wild caught. According to other locals i had met while working in Darwin, Oenpellis are very hard to find and live up high in rocky outcrops that are off the beaten tracks. I was told the areas are basically inaccessible and carefully monitored by rangers for poachers. Also being predominantly nocturnal and also rare would make it hard to find them. That is what a few local guys up there told me. I did hear of a guy with Oenpelli pythons in South oz about 8 years ago, but did not know his name. My guess that they are around, but probably not legally.

Sadly, there are many loopholes in law with Traditional landowners. I have worked for many mining companies and they use them all the time. It is called money! It speaks all languages...