Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris89

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I made a thread a little while ago, about my female Stimson Pyhton going around her cage cover, She isn't doing it anymore.

However. . Now my male Stimson Pyhton is doing it? lol.

It's weird, as none of my other snakes do it - Just the Stimson Pythons.

000_0006-13.jpg

:?,

Chris

im no snake expert but id say its just another thing for them to climb on
as long as they dont burn them self or anything like that :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Damn! I have seen/heard of SO many stimsons doing this! I don't own one, but I have a spotted, and she's never bothered to lift herself up the necessary 30 cm or so to reach her light cover... She's lazy, though.

I don't see why stimsons would want to climb because they can... Aren't they typically terrestrial snakes? I know that the Antaresia group are known for climbing in caves to catch bats, but I'm quite sure enclosures don't resemble bat-infested caves...

Notechistiger, The enclosure is 60cm high (both of them are, the one for the female and the one for the male) and they still manage to climb up the wall and then wrap around the light cage cover.

Even my, Bredli and Murray Darling Carpet Python who love their branches and to climb don't even do this. It's always been my stimson pythons.

It probably wouldn't hurt to add some branches/perches for their safety. A fall from that height can prove nasty

Are you sure it's not going up for the heat mabey add a heat mat to the floor and some branches like Mysnakesau said.

Are you sure it's not going up for the heat mabey add a heat mat to the floor and some branches like Mysnakesau said.

The heat on his basking spot is 32ºc so it's not a heat issue. He has never fallen from there he just climbs down lol.