Agamid ID

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Berachester

Reaction score
I found this dragon while doing the Big Marley Track in the Royal National Park. He was located in a heath kind of habitat. When he was located, he held very still. I managed to chuck my jacket on top of him and then catch him. He was very bitey and active. We managed to get this one photo as when we let him go, he sped off in an upright fashion. At first I thought he was just a baby bearded dragon but I looked at the photo, Im second guessing myself. Maybe a Jacky Lizard? Im a novice at this pleassse help! I would like to know the ID features to distinguish these two.

Thank you :) - Chadley

Attachments

• 1._DSC8438 (2).jpg
    1._DSC8438 (2).jpg
    53.1 KB · Views: 301
Going by the yellow colouration visible on the mouth, and the stripe down the back, it's a Jacky Dragon.

Yes, that's definitely a Jacky Dragon (Amphibolurus muricatus).
http://www.arod.com.au/arod/reptilia/Squamata/Agamidae/Amphibolurus/muricatus

The pointed snout and yellow mouth interior (just visible) are distinctive features, along with the pale, paravertebral dorsal blotches (which often coalesce) on a gray background body colour.

The only similar species in the area is the Mountain Dragon, which is considerably smaller than that specimen. Juvenile beardies tend to have more rounded snouts than Jackies.

By the way, you shouldn't interfere with wildlife in National Parks.

Last edited:
Saw this a few days ago but wasn't able to respond earlier...