Aggressive reaction to handling

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tsia14

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to this, I've only had my Murray darling for a month or so and already I'm noticing a huge difference in her temperament. When I handled her with her previous owners she was very calm and happy. However now she is snappish and moves violently when I try to handle her. At first I attributed this to the new environment but she continues to strike and attack me, even through the glass of her tank. Should I be worried about this or is this a normal thing to happen? Betty is my first snake and she seems perfectly happy to roam around but any attempts at contact with her cause her to be aggressive and strike.
I'd love any advice people have! I'm starting to worry that I'm in over my head.
Thanks!

She is not being aggressive
She is scared and defensive
Or
She is hungry
If she bites you and holds on she is hungry
In that case just leave her alone for a few weeks and give her a lot more food

If she just 'tags' you with her mouth open and doesnt hold on she is scared of you

With every single snake on Earth handling comes down to trust
By that I mean the snake must trust you
Not that you must trust the snake

Think like she does?
Some monster grabs her and tries to maul her?
Her comfort zone is smashed
How would react if you were in the same position??

Gently gently softly softly is how you teach them you are zero danger

Maybe she is being cage defensive, is the enclosure much different to the previous owner? Or like longqi said maybe she is scared or hungry.
im not an expert but when I take my snakes out I always use a hook, so the snake doesn't get confused with a food response.
hope this helps
good luck