Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

prettyinmetal

Reaction score
Hey everyone!!

My name is Vicki, I have just started using this forum! Im new to the world of reptiles, and have just aquired a baby coastal carpet female. I also have a bird eating spiderling, Anyone who has advice on the best way to start handling my baby snake im all ears, cause i get jumpy every time she tries to bite me. I know I shouldnt but its just a reaction i have god dam it! :shock:
Anyways hope to be speaking to you guys alot more on here, i have read posts from some very interesting people on here with so much experience! :D

Ahoy there!!:)

I have a couple of coastals myself, would love to see pictures of yours. My best advice for handling is to let her settle in for a week or two then graduly handle her in her enclosure and let her get use to you. My female coastal is a nutcase lol i mean it:p but when i take her out into the bright sunlight she dosent seem to be the slightest bit annoyed at me picking her up.

I dont know if this was any help but good luck lol:p

OH OH OH and Welcome:).

welcome to APS.I also have a costlal hatchy,mine was a bit physcho when i first got it but after leaving it for 2 weeks to settle in and then handling it he is know the most docile snake wont even rear up.This is a great site with heaps of really experienced herpers who are really helpful.

cheers chris.

hey

Ive had her for about two months, and she is still really snappy, but i know half of why she is snappy, its because everytime she looks like she is about to bite i back away from her instead of just grabbing her out. but being inexperienced i freak out.