Another DIY Enclosure + Hi everyone, I'm New!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rhysmachine101

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi there everyone!
I'm Rhys and I have been silently stalking this forum for about 6 months now,(creepy, huh?) I have been really impressed with everyones DIY enclosures, so much so that i decided to make one for myself! Plus I wish to keep some Southern Angle Headed Dragons.
So I got out my average carpentry skills and started spending a lot of money ( I think I have been keeping the local Bunnings afloat for the last 5 months or so :D) and I am nearly ready to start on the background of the enclosure! which is going to be the really fun part. I hope.

Anyway I will give you some specs on my enclosure, on the inside, the dimensions are 950mm high, and 600mm by 580mm on the x and y co-ordinates.

I have built in a rainwater system, which is in some of the pictures and it has a reservoir at the bottom which was a pain to get to stop leaking :cry: but I have seemed to have fixed that.
The cover that will hold the substrate of the enclosure out of the water is a bread crate I cut to size and is well wrapped with plastic flyscreen. I have a pump and a filter in the cupboard underneath that, which is visible on one of the pictures.
The pump supplies the rainwater system as well as the waterfall I intend to put in.
The picture of the side of the tank is where the water level and where i can refill the reservoir for regular water changes (there is a tap underneath where I can drain it).
I also have four small solar powered fans that I am going to install within the background so I can get some air movement within the enclosure.