Aquarium ammonia levels.

Discussion in 'Other Animals and Invertebrate' started by reptalica, Aug 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ericrs

    ericrs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    adelaide hills
    good point. i forgot about that. as manda said. stagger you tank and filter cleans to help prevent spikes.
     
  2. Sinners121

    Sinners121 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah as has been said your filter is still new this will be causing a bit of a problem, i wouldn't clean it unless it is the first stage filtration to remove any gunk. and remember to clean the filter in the water from the tank otherwise the good bacteria will die.

    and as has been said planting it heavily really helps.
     
  3. reptalica

    reptalica Subscriber Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North east suburbs, Melbourne.
    Again, thanks for all the wonderful advice. Much appreciated. Having a guess I'd say we erred in cleaning the filter somewhat too early. Our bad. Whilst the fish were all swimming near the top a few days ago, things have settled somewhat and they seem a lot more comfortable.

    What I forgot to mention was I got one of those mesh bags with white stones in it to reduce ammonia and put that in the internal filter......appeared to make the water cloudy and still very much is. We figured it hasn't got any worse and can only help but in saying that the charcoal seems like a great idea.

    When we say charcoal? Any charcoal or specifically from an aquarium shop?

    We r in north east subs Melbourne and use Rayonne Aquarium who have always been good to us.
     
  4. Amazing Amazon

    Amazing Amazon <span style="font-weight:bold;color:#B200FF;">Amaz

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi
    Eheim 2215 do not come with Bio Balls so this will be your problem as without proper Eheim Media a 2215 is too small for a 200 litre tank. Put some Eheim media in it or you will need a larger or additional filter.
     
  5. reptalica

    reptalica Subscriber Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North east suburbs, Melbourne.
    Hi Paul.....:) This is the Eheim I got off u guys......u will know who I am......it came with the proper Eheim substrat.......both the balls and the noodles......when I find the instructions I will post the actual name.

    Cheers.
     
  6. Amazing Amazon

    Amazing Amazon <span style="font-weight:bold;color:#B200FF;">Amaz

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    2
    No worries you have just mixed your words up and when I saw "bio balls" rang alarm bells. It will have the correct genuine Eheim media as we do not sell anything else. Stop cleaning it so often and it all should correct itself. Give me a call if you are still having problems in a week.
    Paul
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page