Are my Green tree frogs breeding ?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Conner the dragon

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey I’m new to green tree frogs
I got 2 not sure on genders but I think they might be breeding.
They don’t make noise but I have noticed one sit on top of the other lately. Could this be a sign of breeding or is this normal?
Honestly I don’t want to breed them
Thanks in advance
15E7CAB0-266F-4A3B-86AE-2A5D22DE2716.jpeg

Frogs have external fertilisation, so if your frogs have had any attempts at breeding, they have been unsuccessful.

When frogs breed, the male will very firmly grasp the female (like a piggy back ride, and he'll be holding on very tightly with his front legs). The female then goes to the water with the male riding on her back, and when they are in the water she releases her eggs and he releases sperm at the same time. It's not like in other animals where fertilisation is internal with the male inseminating the female and then her going on to lay fertile eggs or give birth at a later time.

Green Tree Frogs can have thousands of eggs, you'll see them in the water if they're successfully spawned. If you don't have a large enough body of water they won't ever spawn. If you do get eggs and don't want them, you will probably be able to find someone happy to take all the eggs off your hands.

Frogs have external fertilisation, so if your frogs have had any attempts at breeding, they have been unsuccessful.