• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Aussie Pythons and Snakes and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

Beginner! After A young Milk Snake

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kcthorne

Reaction score
Im a beginner at snake keeping, but am excited to purchasing a snake.

I have done alot of research and decided that a milk snake is my best bet.

If any one can point me in the right direction i would appreciate it.

Thank You.
Kate..

try petlink :D, but incase this is not a gee-up , they are illegal in this country

Last edited:
Hey,

Milksnakes are illegal in Australia but we have heaps of really fantastic pythons to keep anyway! Search the term Bredli, Murray Darling, Coastal Carpet, Childrens, spotted, and stimsons python in here and you'll get lots of information on some of our easier beginner snakes!

Dear Kate,

Welcome!

The other comments are correct. In Australia only Australian species can be kept and most must be kept on licence. You will need to contact your local state authority to find out about licensing and which species can be kept.

Probably the closest animal to a milk snake that can be kept in Australia is a Children's python.

You may wish to have a look at http://herptrader.com.au which is a good place to source your animals from. Looking through the ads you will get a feel for what is available, what you can expect to pay etc.

good luck __daavid

Sorry... didn't mean for my reply to sound rude :oops:

But yep, Clairebear and herptrader have given you some great advice :D

who's to say she is even in Australia?
she never did...
if shes not then a milk snake would be a good start

who's to say she is even in Australia?
she never did...