Best spiders for pets?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sezbang

Reaction score
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
Hello! I am told this is the best place to ask.
i am thinking of adding to the animal family with a spider, currently researching and am not sure were to start!
ideally I'd like a large non venomous one that won't mind being handled.
Any recommendations?
If handling one is not a realistic goal by all means feel free to set me straight.
located in Victoria, as far as I can find the licensing is pretty relaxed.
Any help would be much appreciated!

All spiders are venomous. We have a bird-eating spider, cressipes(sp?) and she is a cool critter. big and impressive, and easy to care for. I have heard of people happily handling large spiders but I have no experience myself. Australian tarantulas have fairly potent venom, causing pain, nausea and/or a possible trip to the hospital.

Of course they are all venomous, I meant ones that the venom would inflict the least damage if it was to bite.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but venom is a protein. There is a possibility you may or may not be allergic to the venom so all venom is potentially lethal, I guess.

All spiders are venomous. We have a bird-eating spider, cressipes(sp?) and she is a cool critter. big and impressive, and easy to care for. I have heard of people happily handling large spiders but I have no experience myself. Australian tarantulas have fairly potent venom, causing pain, nausea and/or a possible trip to the hospital.

Actually not all spiders are venomous, there are two small spiders that have no venom glands , aka not venomous .

- - - Updated - - -

Yer thats correct Frac.