Best way to start off - diamond python

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

diamondc8

Reaction score
Hi there!
In the next week or 2 I'm picking my new diamond hatchie up from the airport. As a newbie I'd appreciate any advice for settling the little guy in. He's coming to brisbane from melboune so very interested in temps/best heating equipment given that its much warmer/sunnier up here and don't want to over heat. (he'll get regular outside time in the sun too) The glass vivarium is 60 x 60 and 90 high.

Cheers :)

Way way way too big for a hatchie of any python species, let alone a diamond. Whats wrong with something the size of a shoebox at least till Summer.

It was a freebie so was cheering I didn't have to buy anything ;) you reckon it will freak out with too much space? Can get something smaller

Will defiantly stress a hatchie out, would eventually stop eating and become extremely aggressive. Best to get a 'click clack' container or a tupperware container (with holes drilled) and place it inside the heated enclosure until it's big enough to move out into the big enclosure.

Here is a great thread I've come across on this forum: Guide to build a click-clack.

Also a few people here have cautioned against using second hand enclosures, so check up on some threads (like this one). I think glass is easier to clean and sanitise than wood though so make sure you clean it out really well with some bleach/water solution or similar and rinse it extra well and let it dry in the sun (if we ever have any!).

Last edited:
Beauty guys thanks for the info! Yes I've scrubbd, sterilised and sunned the enclosure but I'll get onto the click clack box to go inside it till he's bigger :)