bringing in a new Jungle Carpet Python

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Essjaya

AussiePythons Supporter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
hi guys this is my first time here and im not sure im doing this right, the post that is...

im in Newcastle, NSW. My son has a reptile license and we have a one year old jungle carpet python, (gender unknown as yet). Wiz is almost 60 cm long and eating pinkie rats. We have been offered another JCP two years old, by the same person we purchased Wiz from. Id like to take him on, i'm not sure if his gender is determined but i will ascertain. I want to know the advisability of housing them together in Wiz's Large Vivarium.. if it is not advisable i certainly wont do it as we don't want either python put at any risk.. i have another vivarium i can put the new guy in.. just curious about the possibility of their eventual co-habitation .. id like some advice on whether or not to let them interact at all. id at least like to place them where they can see each other..

my son held Wiz up to a mirror this week and the little fella was very curious about his reflection.. he seemed to behave as though he saw another python.. Wiz is very accustomed to being held even though one reptile store owner in QLD told me "snakes don't like being held at all", he will sleep in my son's hair quite peacefully and rarely ever show signs of agitation..

will my son need to upgrade his license to bring home another python?

Any tips we can get will be much appreciated.regards
S.J