Broad Banded Sand Swimmers

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mighty_Moose

Reaction score
Hey All :)

Im just curious about the Broad Banded Sand Swimmers. Im fairly new to the reptile world and have been doing alot of research because i want to expand my 'collection'. My parents decided that i couldnt get something that required more than one Plug (lights mats etc) So i went on the hunt and found Broad Banded Sandswimmers along with some geckos but decided against them. But decided that Sandswimmers seemed alot easier to care for. So did some research (finding out practically nothing)But from what i did find out that they are really really AWESOME.

So I was just wondering how everyone else has found them and what kind of set ups they have because im going to be getting them as soon as im fully set up and i think you guys will help me more than Google ;)

Last edited:
Great little critters. Awesome to look after. Mine live with no added heat or light (I'm in Brisbane). I have four in a little critter keeper with sand.. they will go into a larger enclosure when they get bigger. One end has leaf litter and a small cap full of water that I overflow into the sand every now and again to keep one end more moist. They are super duper cute, great at feeding, poo in one spot but cannot be handled.

Here are some photos the day I got them, but they're bigger now:

IMG_3851.jpg

IMG_0562.jpg

IMG_0563.jpg

IMG_0564.jpg

IMG_0565.jpg

IMG_0566.jpg

IMG_0567.jpg

IMG_0568.jpg

IMG_0569.jpg

IMG_3839.jpg

IMG_3841.jpg

IMG_3842.jpg

IMG_3843.jpg

IMG_3844.jpg

IMG_3846.jpg

IMG_3848.jpg

IMG_3849.jpg

IMG_3850.jpg

Feel free to PM me with any questions

cool Philk, i love the pic with its head coming out of the sand. Are they a burrowing lizard ?