Buying Reptiles From Other States.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kayla

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm relatively new to buying reptiles.
I live in nsw and was wondering if it's possible to buy reptiles from other states? Mostly QLD.

Hey guys. I'm relatively new to buying reptiles.
I live in nsw and was wondering if it's possible to buy reptiles from other states? Mostly QLD.
It certainly is. Different states have different regulations and different species lists so as long as u follow the nsw regulations and have the correct license. Your good to go

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

The main things are make sure the animal is legal in your state, and you hold the right level of license.

Beyond that you will likely need to apply for an import license, and the seller for an export license. You do this with the same place your license was issued with.

Some states make you pay for these, some they are free.

Easy to do. QLD probably has the most confusing import/export documents at the moment but even thats not difficult once you run through it once or twice.
Remember that there will be a cost for freight, typically but not always added to the price of the animal. (Some sellers factor the cost in).

Cost may vary between sellers depending on many factors including how far they live from the airport so please don't think they are trying to rip you off as the price you pay often doesn't cover the real cost of getting the animals to you.